Amanda Miliner

2013-2014 Top Four Finalists

Huntington Middle ~ Lisa Carson
Northside Elementary ~ Marla Garnto
Pearl Stephens Elementary ~ Brette Callaway
Veterans High ~ Christie Wall

Meet Amanda Miliner

Amanda Miliner of Miller Elementary is the 2013-2014 Houston County Teacher of the Year.

Mrs. Miliner was born in Missouri, but spent most of her life traveling to different areas as a military child.  She is a proud graduate of Warner Robins High School and received her Bachelor’s Degree from Valdosta State University.  She continued my graduate studies receiving my Master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction and her Education Specialist’s degree in Teaching and Leading from Georgia Southwestern State University. Mrs. Miliner also educational endorsements in Science, teaching Gifted Education, and teaching English Language Learners.

Her teaching career has included positions in pre-K, 3rd, 4th and 5th grades in addition to serving as an instructional coach.  She has had the honor of being recognized for her teaching as an Innovating Teaching Award Winner named by the Governor, a California Casualty Award Recipient for Teaching Excellence, and had the honor of traveling the nation as the 2015 Georgia Teacher of the Year. One of her favorite teaching experiences was traveling to Peru to collaborate with Peruvian teachers as a National Education Association Global Fellow. 

Mrs. Miliner is married to her high school sweetheart and has two children. 

2013-2014 Teachers of the Year

Bonaire Elementary - Blake Johnsa
Bonaire Middle - Cheralyn Keily 
Centerville Elementary - Anne Moore (Top 10)
Eagle Springs Elementary - Kimberly Strozier
Feagin Mill Middle - Brian Lewis
Hilltop Elementary - Ruth White 
Houston County Career Academy - Cindy O'Mara
Houston County Crossroads Center - Angela Karros  
Houston County High - Stephanie Justen 
Huntington Middle - Lisa Carson (Top 5)
Kings Chapel Elementary - Julie Tomberlin 
Lake Joy Elementary - Ashley McSwain (Top 10)
Lake Joy Primary - Sherry Partain
Lindsey Elementary- Penny Rumph
Linwood Elementary - Aree Byrd
Matt Arthur Elementary - Stacy Daly
Miller Elementary - Amanda Miliner (HC Teacher of the Year)
Morningside Elementary - Michele Casey 
Mossy Creek Middle - Justin Bennett (Top 10)

Northside Elementary - Marla Garnto (Top 5)       

Northside High - Lori Zavetz (Top 10)

Northside Middle - Melissa Shiver
Parkwood Elementary - Servella Wrotten
David Perdue Elementary - Amy Warden
David Perdue Primary - Phaedra Early
Perry High - Jerry Gatzke
Perry Middle - Wendy Pheil

Perry Primary - Jennifer Knight  
Quail Run Elementary - Darcy Hatin
Russell Elementary - Marcy Waugh
Shirley Hills Elementary - Jack Story 
Pearl Stephens Elementary - Brette Callaway (Top 5)
Thomson Middle - Jessica Green
Tucker Elementary - Stephanie Wilson 
Veterans High - Christie Wall (Top 5)
Warner Robins High - Jane Johnston 
Warner Robins Middle - Kimessia Hughes (Top 10)
Westside Elementary - Amber Bowling